Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals

The Roar Meter is a weekly story in numbers.

On September 5, Trump announced his intention to end DACA, sending millions of DREAMers “home” to countries they don’t remember.

In order to qualify for DACA, applicants must:

  • Be the right age
    • Under 31 as of June 15, 2012, and under 15 when they arrived in the USA
  • Be in or graduated from high school, have earned their GED, or be honorably discharged from the United States military
  • Have proof of identity, immigration status, continuous residence, student status, and armed forces service (if any)
  • Never have been in removal proceedings, or those proceedings were halted, or they are currently under removal proceedings but are under 15 years old.

Applications for DACA will be rejected if:

  • Dates are not written exactly the same way in every instance
  • Older versions of the forms are used
  • Any color ink other than black is used
  • Errors are whited out
  • All forms are not submitted together
  • The fee is not remitted with the forms

Successful recipients of DACA may not receive:

  • ACA health coverage
  • SNAP (food stamps)
  • Medicaid (except emergency services)
  • CHIP (children’s Medicaid)
  • TANF (welfare)
  • SSI

They may receive:

  • Tax credits if otherwise applicable
  • Social Security retirement benefits under certain circumstances
  • Medicare under certain circumstances

Annika Barranti Klein is a writer, knitter, women’s banked track roller derby referee, and radical homeschooling mother. Her work has appeared at The Toast, The Establishment, and on Book Riot. She is a cis, white, bi-furious intersectional feminist.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *