United States Presidents by Time in Office

The Roar Meter is a weekly story in numbers.

  • Total number of men who have held the office of President: 44
    • Grover Cleveland served two non-consecutive terms, which is why we are now on 45.
  • Longest time served in office: Franklin D. Roosevelt, 4,442
  • Shortest time served in office: William Henry Harrison, 31 days
  • Presidents who served two full terms: 13
  • Presidents who served one full term: 13
  • Presidents who died in office: 8
    • Of those, 4 were assassinated.
  • Presidents who resigned the office: 1
  • Vice Presidents who took over the office from a dead or resigned President: 9

Annika Barranti Klein is a writer, knitter, women’s banked track roller derby referee, and radical homeschooling mother. Her work has appeared at The Toast, The Establishment, and on Book Riot. She is a cis, white, bi-furious intersectional feminist.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *